mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Off He Goes!

Dear Mike,

I'm currently writing from Meeting Room #2 at MEPS. We are waiting to be dismissed so we can go catch our flight. I've never just waited and waited so much in my entire life.

MEPS wasn't as bad as usual. Today was "Ship Day," so the only people at MEPS were those who were being sent to their respective boot camps. The atmosphere was surprisingly very much at ease. Everyone had the same mentality as I did -- that we were ready and excited to get our careers started.

I was talking with someone before I came back to Missouri about how I am feeling the same mix of emotions one would feel before going on a really big, fast roller coaster. I am excited. I'm a little anxious. Toss in a dash of "Oh, crap! What have I gotten myself into?!" But ultimately, I know I will enjoy the ride and I will be completely safe.

I still can't shake the thought that this is just a really good way to get an idea for a story. I'm sure that thought will leave my mind REAL quick as soon as I step off the plane.


I met a girl who spent the last two or three years teaching junior high. She is 25, has three certifications, also has a degree in jounalism...

And is joining the Marines.

Does it make me less of a man to say that this girl has more b--, umm...guts than me?


I'm finishing this letter while sitting in the United Services Organization (USO) area in Lambert International Airport in St. Louis. They give free stuff to military personel.

Oh, yeah. I almost forgot! I am now active duty! I am technically the rank of E-3, Airman First Class, though I can't wear my stripes until the day I leave boot camp. I still get paid E-3 pay, though.

The USO is staffed by the oldest people you've ever seen. One man, who is "guarding" the luggage fought at Normandy and the Battle of the Bulge in WWII. They may be old, but they have cool stories!

There is also a priest here who everyone calls "Padre," just like Father Mulcahey in M*A*S*H. He asked for my name. I told him. Then he made the same pope joke I've gotten my whole life.

And, as usual, he laughed like he was the first to make it. God forbit I get the nickname "Pope" while in basic. I know it's gonna happen.

Mark. My word.


Well, I'm going to go spend the $16 in food money that they gave me at MEPS. I'm not sure when I will be able to write again.

If I can wing it, I will send a quick note late this week just letting you know I am still alive.

But for now, I will go. Go out and eat a really good cheeseburger for me. I'll thank you later.

Anxiously waiting,

JP


PS My friend Mike is transcribing these for me from actual letters I am sending to him.


(((Hi. This is transcriptionist friend Mike. Our bud JP asked me to write something witty in this space. Hmm...but instead of waiting for something witty to come to mind I'll just go ahead and post this letter for all the kids out there who have been waiting by their monitors for word from the JPster. Maybe I'll be witty at the end of another letter.)))

7:35 p.m. - Friday, May. 30, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster