mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Can I Come Home Now?

Dear Mike,

I am going to have to write a letter over several days, just whenever I get a chance. I'm currently in...

I wrote that earlier. I obviously won't be anywhere for long enough to identify it. Basically, I have been nonstop since 4:45 a.m. This is Day #1, and I have already been through quite a bit. For example, just between the time we woke up and lunch, we -- my flight of 59 Air Force trainees -- all did these things:

  • Got completely dressed while someone we had never seen before was screaming at us.
  • Rushed downstairs for breakfast (they call it "chow." I refuse, citing a foodie conscientious objection...)
  • I ate a complete breakfast of a cheese omelette and bacon, with three glasses of water and juice, all in two minutes.
  • Marched for a couple of miles.
  • Went to get my base money, but they lost my name somewhere. As of writing this, my name is still lost in the money department.
  • Got our heads shaved!!!
  • Got our BDUs (camo), along with what seemed like 50 lbs. of other equipment.
  • Carried the 50 lbs. of equipment on our backs while wearing our long-sleeved BDUs


Right now, I am packed with the other 58 trainees watching an informational video on the Uniform Code of Military Justice. I say I am watching..I'm just writing you.

One thing I never thought about... It is considerably more difficult to take off your T-shirt when your head is shaved. I about had to get some help.

Well, we are about to go do something. Who knows what. One last thing, though. Our TI (training instructor) is easily the softest-spoken of all of the TI's I've seen. I got really, really lucky somehow...


I'm in the second week of being here, yet it is only officially the first week of training. I won't lie. This is hard.

The marching is easy. I spent nearly ten years in different marching bands learning how to march. So, no big deal there. Physical training is sort of hard, but it only lasts an hour or so.

Actually, everything we are doing is pretty easy. But the fact that we have to constantly rush to do anything at all is what is making this so difficult for me. We have to shower in under three minutes, eat in the same amount of time, rush to get dressed, rush to brush our teeth, rush to "Get over here!"

For someone who is a Type-B personality to the extreme, this is very difficult to adjust to.

Some of the guys are decent. The guys next to my bunk are both really nice. The guy above me is a tall black guy named Warren. I insist he should change his last name to Peace. He doesn't get it. He's very soft spoken, very gentle, and all-around quiet. The most I've heard him say in one standing was, "I haven't shit in a week."

None of us have, dear bunkmate.

Another guy beside me is a guy named Adam. He is nineteen, and he isn't sure his wife of one month will be around when BMT is over. She was adamant about him not joining. I would hate to be a 19-year-old divorcee.


A few short notes before I finish writing this secret letter. Trouble would come aplenty if I were caught writing it.

I now have to devise a plan on how to mail it...

Despite having to eat so quickly, the food here is actually really good. I just ate shrimp stir-fry, and they have all kinds of things you wouldn't expect.

I went to the religious services last Sunday with the rest of the flight. I cried like a little girl. It's true that bottled emotions never go away. I plan on going again this week.

O.k. That's it. I hope I can get this letter off without getting caught.

Sincerely stressed,

JP


This is Mike. I don't know about y'all, but I was damn happy to hear from our boy JP. In fact, I got two letters from him today. But, y'all will just have to be good little boys and girls and wait for a few days to read the next installment (JP's orders.) But in his next letter:
  • Learn how JP went all James Bond to get these letters to the outside.
  • Hear about a tasty MRE
  • Hear what happens when you scratch your nose at the wrong time.
Oh, and just so you know, the letters include the flawless html coding you see above. That's our JP. Always thinking of yous. Check back in a couple of days for the next letter. And send our boy some mail! -- Mike

11:13 p.m. - Thursday, Jun. 19, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster