mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm back... kinda. Stay tuned!

It's been a long week in Lake Wobegon, my home town.

Oops. Wrong outlet.

It looks like things have gotten to a point where I can sit and write for all of you myself again. It's been a long time, and I am a little bit rusty, so you will have to forgive me while I get back into the swing of things.

Before you assume I have internet access, let me quickly explain how I am going to be posting entries again:

First, I will try and update at least two times per week. It isn't the four or five times per week I was averaging in Missouri, but it's better than the zero times per week I've posted over the past few months. There's also no way you can contact me, so I took down the guestbook and email link for now. If I can get to a point where I can check email regularly, I will put an email link back up. But until then, you will have to suppress your unwaning (is that a word?) urge to contact me.

So, I will sit in my room twice a week and write out an entry. Then, I will burn said entry onto a CD-RW. You can burn those multiple times, which is good. The next day in class, I will give the CD to a friend who lives off base. His name's Reimer, not to be confused with my good bud from BMT who was named Reisner. Both are good people, so I can see where you would get confused.

Reimer will then take the CD home, dial up the ol' Internet, and cut and copy the whole thing. Hopefully it won't look like utter crap when I do it this way. And hopefully this will work. I've missed you guys.

No, really. Seriously.

Ok. Ok. You got me.


So, JP� It's been a long time since you've posted. What's been going on in your life?
Well, in a nutshell: I get up at 4:15, eat by 4:40�

In the morning?
Yup.

Wow.
I know. Ridiculous, huh? Anyway, eat by 4:40 and be out at first formation by 5:00. We have our morning briefings � they are the same ones week by week � and we start marching to class by 5:30. It takes a while to march 400 people .8 miles to class, so we don't get seated until just after 6:00.

Wait� Don't you mean 0600? As if you were in the military?
Yeah, yeah. Do I look military to you?


Exactly. So, we are in school until 3:00, at which point we march back to the squadron. At 3:30, we go in, change, get a sip or two of water, change into our workout clothes, and line back up at 4:00 for our daily exercises. It makes me feel like I am in kindergarten. Somehow, it takes us an hour and a half to do two minutes each of sit-ups and push-ups and thirty minutes of running. That should take 34 minutes. But� yeah. So, at 5:30 we are pretty much done. I usually go eat either in the cafeteria or go out somewhere, come back in, and go to bed by 8:30. It's really a boring, extremely depressing existence. It's what Henry David Thorough was talking about when he described the mass of men living in quiet desperation. That's mostly my life.

What about girls? Have you met anybody?
Oh, I've met tons of girls. Unfortunately, I am both "a really nice guy" and "a good friend," obviously very, very bad traits to today's chic military lady. So, I spend my weekends at home with my mom or dad or sitting in my room watching DVDs. I watched Punch-Drunk Love this weekend, for instance. Weird movie.

Oh. Your folks. How are they?
Oh, good, for the most part. My mom is still getting married, except she changed the date from February 14 to this next weekend. I will be going to Gatlinburg, Tennessee to be the person who gives her away. The new step father is nice and gets my mom out of the house, so I am happy about that. My dad is doing well. Nothing new about that. And my sister had her baby in September at one point. The new one's name is Terryn Rain.

What the f��
Yeah. Don't ask. I think it was based on a dare, but that's my own personal theory.

How do you like the military?
My momma always told me that if I didn't have anything nice to say�


My birthday was last week. Twenty-five was a fantastic year, despite a few things. Twenty-six should be an adventure. I will be here at Keesler until March 3, which is good because I really love being so close to home with Ma and Pa.

I just found out this weekend where I will be going after I leave here. I must admit that I am very excited and quite giddy. I have been dreaming about going to this place since I attended that boarding school my junior year.

Ready to know where I am going? Are you excited? Boy-howdy, I am!

I'm going to a land where bratwurst and beer flow instead of milk and honey. I'm going where Edelweiss isn't just a song. I'm going to f'n GERMANY! Woot!

I don't know all of the details as of yet, except that I will be going there towards the end of next March. I will have two or three weeks to get there after I leave here, so I am thinking I may let the government buy my ticket to London, and then have the government pay for a train from London to wherever it is I will be going. That way, I will get to play a little on the government's tab. I don't know if I will be able to do that, but I've got a while to see what I can finagle. Being best buds with the same guy who will be booking all of my travel arrangements won't hurt me in the least.


Ok. I think I've written enough for one day. I will try and get the next post up in the next few days. I have a doctor's appointment on Wednesday, so I may write then and tell you what's up with that.

Auf wiedersehen!

8:41 p.m. - Sunday, Oct. 19, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster