mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Today's entry is brought to you by the words 'Hope' and 'Suck.'

Surprised as you may be, I am actually quite excited about going to Germany.

It feels like I have won a contest or something. I was at my friend Reimer's house � the same guy who is making this diary possible at the moment � and he showed me on a map where Sembach AFB is. It is just outside Franfurt, Germany, which is almost dead center of all of Deutschland. I will be just a couple of hours from any new country, and it is reputed that I will be only two hours from Paris.

I'm not really into Paris at all, but it would be neat to ask someone if they wanted to go out for the evening for a night on the town� in Paris.

Or for a picnic in Italy. Or for a look at all of the colorful lights outside of certain businesses in Switzerland.

Har har har.

I'm just really excited and giddy about going to Germany. Sembach is actually an annex of Ramstein AFB � not far from Sembach. I went to the Ramstein website while in class, and they have freakin' valet parking on base! I'm not kidding, either. The next year should be a sweet one.


Ever get the feeling that somewhere, out in the world, your future wife (or husband) is floating around in the masses. You've never met her, and she hasn't met you, but she will be the most beautiful human being you have ever met. So beautiful that you couldn't ever have fathomed that someone could possibly be so perfect.

You wonder if she is looking at the moon at the same time as you, wishing on that star that she will one day find love, and that you are the person that will one day be just hers?

Do you ever get the feeling that somewhere, out in the world, your future wife is out there waiting for you? And then do you feel sorry for her?

I sure do.

Welcome back to my life.


I'm going to Gatlinburg in a couple of days. I was going to drive up there, but my commander figured that it wasn't safe enough for me to drive so far in such a few days, regardless of the fact that I will have three adults � who have much more experience at being adults than I � driving with me.

This is what bugs me the most about the military life thus far. I can't friggin' think for myself. I had to call my mom last night and had to tell her that her son couldn't come to her wedding. I had to listen to my mom cry because some guy thought I wouldn't be safe. Bastard.

So, instead, my future father-in-law is forking out several hundreds of dollars so I can come up and give my mom away.

And while writing this, my mom just called and said all of the flights to Knoxville, TN have been booked out of Gulfport. Why can't life be easy for a short while?


Well, I need to go. My new bedtime is around 8:30 these days, and it is a little bit past that. I was able to get a very short nap this afternoon, so I will do a bit of reading before escaping into my own personal Neverland.

I'm reading a book called The Time Traveler's Wife by a new author from the Chicago branch of the college I used to attend. As soon as I get done with this one � I am about halfway done � I will start right in to a book that someone incredibly special sent to me. It's Jack Kerouac's On the Road. I can't wait!

I've been reading as a means to escape. I found a book of poems from my favorite poet, Pablo Neruda, and I will leave you with a poem excerpt. He's pure genius.

Take bread away from me, if you wish,
take air away, but
do not take from me your laughter. �
Laugh at the night,
at the day, and the moon
laugh at the twisted
streets of the island,
laugh at this clumsy
boy who loves you
but when I open
my eyes and close them,
when my steps go,
when my steps return,
deny me bread, air,
light, spring
but never your laughter
for I would die.

8:30 p.m. - Wednesday, Oct. 22, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster