mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Picayune thinks culture-building activites suck and are dumb-dumb.

Hey guys!

Only 3-1/2 more weeks until I am out of here. I never thought I would make it to this point. This has been one very trying year. I'm still wondering if I made the right decision. It's been a really sucky year for me, and I can only hope it will get better.

Hmm. Come to think of it, I am almost 12 hours late for taking my meds. May be a downer of an entry today, kids!

I'm actually in Picayune today. I drove down last night to go see a play at our local community theater. It is the same theater I participated in when I was a young chap. Some of the same people are still there, working away. For a small town community theater -- hell, for a Picayune community theater -- it is surprisingly good, and the people who work it are very dedicated to making it continually better.

The play was calledThe Children's Hour, and it was surprisingly "progressive" for a such a small town theater aimed at older audiences. It is about two women who open a successful boarding school for girls. One of the girls starts a false rumor that the two women are lesbians, and it basically destroys the lives of these two women. But through the pain and suffering, they remain together and, in the end, wonder if the rumor is really false at all.

It wasn't a laugher, that's for sure.

The last one they did, I'm Not Rappaport, was a comedy, but it included marijuana use and several curse words.

When I performed here, they used to edit out the curses and didn't dare discuss racy topics like homosexuality and drug use. I'm actually proud of the theater for pushing into uncomfortable territory. But it still feels like my little community theater is growing up, sniff sniff.

When I was in it, I was Jim, the gentleman caller in "The Glass Menagerie," and Rolf in "The Sound of Music." I had a few other roles, but they aren't coming to mind right now.

Like I said, it's a surprisingly good theater for a small community, but Picayune obviously wants to eliminate anything that would become an excellent entity not directly associated with the town itself.

The city has decided that it will tear down the building that the theater currently uses. No reason, really. But it has promised Picayune on Stage that it will have a brand new building built and ready for the spring season.

Horay for the city, right?

Well, that sounds nice and dandy until you find out that the city doesn't have a single plan in the works to get the new theater going. There isn't even a location spotted yet.

Picayune is notable for having good intentions but letting the intentions die well before maturity. So, it seems like POS will probably die unless a private contributor comes along and builds a theater.

Which stinks because, just as my little community theater was growing up and becoming more mature, the city came along and killed it.


Speaking of my town not being the brightest bulb in the South, take a look at what Jay Leno thought of our hometown football team.

You have to click the 'Next' button to see the whole thing.


Well, like most of my entries this past year, this one won't be a long one. I hear that I'll have in-room DSL or cable access in Germany, so I will be able to update like I used to when I lived in Missouri.

And since I plan on doing a lot of travelling, I should have plenty to write about. My aunt is setting me up with a family that she became good friends with when she lived there. They have three kids, all in college (or Uni, as they call it over there), so I will have a place to go on the weekends if I end up hitting things off with them.

One thing I want to do is take someone out for dinner in Paris, just to say that I have done that. A picnic in front of the Eiffel Tower would be really great. I have visions of Forget Paris in my head.


So, that's it for today. I am waiting for a phone call from somebody at school. She graduates this week, and I am expecting a big blow-out of a party tonight.

But, the way things go here, everybody could be busy and it ends up being two people going to the dining facility and getting a bowl of ice cream. So, I may or may not go back down tonight.

If not, I found a stash of Jim Beam my step-dad owns, and I plan on putting it to good use.

We'll see.

Until then....

2:57 p.m. - Saturday, Feb. 07, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster