mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Neat fun!

Really cool new thing for my blog/diary/whatever. It's the first step in a complete overhaul of this here diary that is long, long overdue.

I have some major plans coming, but this new one is pretty nifty. From now on, when I tell people about my diary and they want to see it, I no longer have to explain what "My Chai" means ("chai" is the Hebrew symbol for life. So... my life. My Chai. Get it? Goooood...) and I don't have to struggle through the embarrassment of someone hearing a 26 year-old military guy saying the words "Diary" and "Land."

No, sir. From now on, all I have to say when people ask me about my site is:

www.JP-LAND.com

Yeah, sure, it's a little narcissistic and egocentric, but what do you expect from an online diary/blog/whatever?

10:23 a.m. - Friday, Feb. 20, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Creationism.

Hey guys...

I just added a couple of poems to my Creation diary. I wrote them quite a while ago when I was pulling a 12-hour detail as a punishment for leaving my door unlocked.

I had a copy of Pablo Neruda's The Captain's Verses nearby and used it as my inspiration. What do you think?

9:05 a.m. - Friday, Feb. 20, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm off to see / Germany!

I got my tickets yesterday. I'm off to the land of Rhein and oompah bands!

Well, as of March 21 at 7:10am, I will officially be on my way there. I won't actually be there until about 6:50am Frankfurt time on the next day. So, I will lose about 12 hours of my own time when travelling. Just like that. *Poof* into thin air.

But the cool thing about it? I still get paid for those 12 hours that will not exist for me. That's like the government just handing me a $2 bill.

Rich, I tell ya! I'm a-gonna be rich!

Oh, and there won't be a lay-over in Baltimore, which I was somewhat disappointed about. I was wanting to explore some. But alas, I have a three-hour layover in Atlanta. Not even long enough to leave for a bite to eat. But it is long enough to have a few beers before boarding my connecting, direct flight to Germany.

How much did it cost? Me, directly, it cost nothing. Tax-wise, I'm sure I shelled out a small fraction of a penny. But the overall cost to the taxpayer is $387. Which isn't bad, really.

10:20 a.m. - Thursday, Feb. 19, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Just an afternoon delight.

I was going to write yesterday, but the entire weather building lost its internet connection at 10am, so I couldn't write a single thing. It was nice in a way, though, because we couldn't do anything related to our jobs because of our dependance to the internet.

It's quite scary what could -- and will -- happen if/when the terrorists disrupt our ability to communicate via the net. I hope we have sufficient backup plans if that were to happen.

I only have two more weeks until get the funk out of here. I'm now forecasting for Modesto, California, and will until the end of this week when we finish lab. One more block of classwork after that, and I will be done. Off to Germany.

Brooke -- a friend who is also being stationed in Germany -- has a 13-hour layover in Baltimore. I find out today if I will have a similar layover. If so, does anybody know of any good sights in Baltimore that would take about 13 hours to see? Huh? Do you?

Oh... and one more thing. I know you have been dying to see what I look like in uniform. Well, here is a picture of what I looked like last October when I went to my mom's wedding. Thanks to Nicole for resizing it for me.

I found a way to host pictures without buying a gold membership. I still plan on buying another gold membership once I get to Germany, but for now this will do.


My roommate turned 21 last night, so he and I went to this place called Sports Pub and got a few beers and some nachos. It was nice taking him out for his first legal beers. It's an unusual experience having a good roommate, one you actually like and don't mind having around. I haven't wanted to kill anybody in a long time, and it feels nice!

He graduates in one week, and I will get a "Pinger" -- a newbie fresh out of BMT. I'm already regretting the day that happens, but then again, I have a ton of laundry that needs to be done, and we all know that I don't want to do it.

Ok. I gotta run. Email me if you can. I'll put up an email link soon since I can check it regularly again.

(By the way... in the Mandy pic below, she is the one on the left. As the people in my class call her, "the non-butch one.")

1:15 p.m. - Wednesday, Feb. 18, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The token \"Current Events\" entry...

Ya know...

I have been keeping up with the news and with what has been going on in the Massachusetts. I saw the thousand or so gay people in San Francisco feeding the San Fran stereotype lining up to get married in the rain and nasty weather. I have also been reading all I can about both sides of the issue.

Call me sentimental; call me sappy. But all of this talk makes me think of one thing.


Mandy the Psycho Lesbian Ex

Sweet, ain't it?

10:24 a.m. - Wednesday, Feb. 18, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Out the door!

Real quick... I have about five minutes to update.

Oops. Sinnamon-style entry. Will update later.

2:56 p.m. - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My back hurts and my knees creek.

"I don't like wearing black socks. They make my feet sweaty, and it feels like they are sitting in a nasty sauna all day."

"Yes, white socks absorb moisture much better. But what are really nice are Thor-Lo socks."

...

A conversation between me and a guy in class. I am getting too damn old.

Now excuse me as I put on my cardigan and smoke my pipe.

Damn teenagers and their loud-ass music.

3:12 p.m. - Wednesday, Feb. 11, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fore!

The past few days of lab saw me merely observing the weather, which, as the job title implys, can be done by a bunch of drunk monkeys tossing poop around.

"Yep. Sun's a-shinin'. Weather has been observed. Eek, eek."

But I am now actually forecasting for two cities, and that is a monster within itself. I would post up my forecast, but 1) I don't want to be embarassed when the rain I forecasted turns into a beautiful, sunny day, and 2) you can't read TAFs, which look like this:

KBIX TAF 101919 35003KT 9000 BR BKN080 OVC100 552003 QNH3020INS
BECMG 0607 04007 4800 RA BKN005 OVC080 551007 QNH3030INS
BECMG 1718 04013 3200 RA OVC005 QNH3030INS

Oops. There it is. My forecast. Basically I'm saying that it is going to be really cloudy and really rainy.

Takes a genius, huh?

1:55 p.m. - Tuesday, Feb. 10, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yes, I'm paranoid.

Just in case you didn't believe me, a guy in my lab found this article about me in some random newspaper that I had no clue had any interest in me.

Hm. The things on the Net.

1:19 p.m. - Monday, Feb. 09, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Just trying this out...

Hey guys!

I'm experimenting using the blogging aspect of Diaryland while I am in weather lab. This would be easier for me, and I will be able to chat with you better this way.

When I had two hours to write, edit, re-write, etc., I could do it better using the long way. For now, though, we'll try it like this.

Until I write again, go look at a visual satellite shot of the eastern US. Pretty nifty-cool, huh?

12:49 p.m. - Monday, Feb. 09, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster