mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My dear, sweet, dysfunctional family.

I woke up at around 6:45 this morning with Daisy the Dog at my feet. She somehow senses when I am awake, and she lazily stumbles over my body to come lay at my face so I can hug her and pet her and call her George.

She's now snoozing at my side as I write this. She has dreams every now and then and makes little whimper sounds as if the cat she's chasing in her dreams suddenly takes on the size of Monster Cat and starts chasing her.

And every now and then she'll burp. I love this dog.


I had a good weekend with my family. We had a going away party for me on Saturday with about 25 family and step-family people showing up at my dad's ranch/farm/house with a 22-acre back yard.

The weird thing? My mom and step-dad were invited and actually showed up. At my dad and step-mom's house. Call me crazy, but I'm from the schooling that says if parents are divorced and have remarried -- you know, to different people -- that they shouldn't be inviting one another to their respective homes for bar-be-ques. Although it is weird, it is nice nonetheless.

I just got an email from my dad saying that he left the digicam at home and will email me pics from the event tonight. So, stay tuned for that.


Among bands that typically aren't my style but I love them anyway include Red Hot Chili Peppers, Offspring, and the classic Metallica.

There's a new one to add to that list, and that is Evanescence. I borrowed their album from Brooky-Brooke and absolutely love it.

I've figured out that the things in this life I love the most are things with great contrasts. I love cool salads with freshly grilled veggies and/or meats on top. I enjoy freezing temperatures outside with a hot fire inside. My favorite pies (gooseberry and rhubarb) are incredibly tart yet sweet.

Hence my attraction to Evanescence. It's a sweet, ghostly Arkansas voice backed by a hard, angry rock band. This past spring, before heading off to boot camp, the song from that really, really terrible superhero movie came on the radio every few minutes, but I couldn't get enough. Now it is her song "My Immortal", and I download her video every few days just to catch a glimpse.

Because, ya know...


She's incredibly hottt.

They should pay me to market albums. If you will remember, it was Yours Truly who started the whole Norah Jones movement...


Ok, well, I need to go get my sister and run her around. She is supposed to be getting her driver's license soone, but I personally would rather her not get it back.

I know my sister, and behind the steering wheel of a car is not where God intended for her to be. I love her and all, but she's been through more cars than I have been through pairs of tighty-whities.

I would rather take a couple of hours out of my day and drive her around than see her in trouble with the law again. Call me selfish, lazy, whatever, but when she gets in trouble, my mom calls me and cries for days. Sis is a tough cookie, but I take the emotional blunt of the storm. Driving her around is my way of preventing having to deal with mom.

I hope I'm not as dysfunctional when I grow up as I am now.

11:45 a.m. - Monday, Mar. 08, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster