mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I hate Enterprise Leasing, along with a picture of me bending over that is just wrong.

Hey guys!

Sorry it has been so long since I last wrote, but it has been Stressville here over the past week, and I haven't had the time or energy to sit and write out a decent entry.

It hit me about this time last week that I have officially run out of time to get things done, and that everything that needs to be done better be done quick or they won't get done.

And one of the things was to try and translate a sentence like that into German.

I didn't realize the mountains of work and stress it takes to send one person out of the country permanently. One good example was today's car drama.

Let me recap the past five months of stress and drama that Enterprise Leasing has put me through.

I decided I would sell my car before going to Germany, and Enterprise said they would sell it for me and give me the profit. Good, I thought, and let them take it away. They called a week later saying that they could get only $5,000 for the car. Since I owed $7,000, I would still have to pay $2,000 on a car I no longer owned.

I told them in nicer words that they could go bleepity-bleep themselves.

So, they said my car would be back in my hands within a week. A month and a half later, I had to threaten them with my JAG lawyers in order for them to give my car back to me.

That is one super cool thing about the military. I can say something like, "... or, I could just have you talk to my lawyer," and actually mean it.

So, I get my car back around the first week of January. The tags expired in November. I call them and tell them this, and they say that I'll have tags shortly.

To sum up, I got my tags last Friday. Four months late. Try explaining every week to military police why you haven't yet gotten tags. It isn't fun. Luckily, I got a different MP every time and told them I had just bought my car and was going to get the tags "tomorrow."

Ok. So, yesterday comes and I send an email to them saying I need a letter from them stating the information that they hold (title number, etc.) since it is a leased car. Now, it is no big surprise to them that I am going to Germany. It has been a common discussion topic ever since I contacted them last November about selling the car. They decide to tell me today, after they didn't respond to the email so I had to call, that they couldn't allow me to send the car overseas.

This gives me four options:

  1. I can give the car back to them, have them sell it for less than what I owe. This means I still make car payments on a car I don't own and loose the investment I made in the car up to this point.
  2. I take advantage of a law called the Soldiers and Sailors Act which would allow me to terminate the lease with no fines or penalties. This will kinda screw the leasing company (good), but I will loose the investment I made in the car up to this point (bad).
  3. I could keep the car here in storage and, when I come back, have a perfectly good car ready and waiting for me, completely paid off (good). But I would be making payments on a car I can't use (bad).
  4. I could ask my step-dad to try and sell it for me at a decent price. I could give him a percentage of what he sells it for, and I would get the rest.

Either way, I'm losing my car, which really sucks. I just have to find the way of losing it that would have me lose the least amount of money.

That's Enterprise Leasing Company. They suuuuuck. Baaaaaad.


I know last time I wrote, I promised you loads of pictures. Well, I got them, and you better thank me. For what, I dunno.

At my going-away party at my dad's, my favorite little cousin/niece/step-whatever showed up. She's three and is in love with me. We share a love of bugs, so I bought her a bug barn that I put together, and we immediately went searching for bugs. I think we found one cricket, a frog, and a lizard. And while they frog and lizard aren't technically called "bugs", the little one got amusement out of shaking them to bits while they took up shop in the bug barn.

There was plenty of food, and I amused and amazed everyone with the wonderful talent I have of puffing out my stomach to many times its actual size. The woman beside me in my 9-month pregnant cousin, mother of the little bug collector.

After the party was over and everyone had left, my dad and I went fishing. We each caught a fish at the exact same time, a perfect photo opportunity if you ask me.


We also went camping this past weekend, a canoe camping trip we traditionally do when I'm about to make a big life change. Getting out of the country for several years fits that criteria.

I also have pictures of that, but honestly I'm not in the mood to post them. I'm a little pissy at the moment.

I'll leave it there for now.

I hope all of your respective days are doing better. Does anybody still read this? Other than my Psycho Lesbian Ex? Email me if you do.

12:52 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 16, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster