mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Old folks and Bourbon Street don't mix.

All I can say is NEVER AGAIN.

I'm talking, of course, of going to New Orleans for a day of museums and walking around the French Quarter with my newlywed mom and step-dad, and my grandfather and step-grandmother.

Keep in mind that I really don't like my step-grandmother. She is extremely controlling. I don't know how my grandfather puts up with her.

I find myself making little smart-ass comments to her kind-of sarcastically -- but not really -- just to make my little jabs back at her.

But enough about her. Let's focus on my mom and step-dad.

Remember that they are newlyweds. And newlyweds usually have that "Schmoopie-cutie-honeypie" language between them. Well, thankfully, they don't do anything as sickening as that. But instead, they do this thing that makes my blood boil. I absolutely despise it.

They pretend like that haven't got a lick of common sense. At least I think they are pretending.

For instance, I had to show my mother how to use a disposable camera. And you can't give either one of them directions to the bathroom. No. You have to drop what you are doing and take them there. Because, and I swear this is the case, you tell them right and they turn left, and you say "Go down this hall," and they say they can't find the hall.

But it's a hall. On their right. Not hard to find.

I guess this is their way of giving attention to one another. It just pisses me off.

So, out of the group going to New Orleans yesterday, my grandfather was the only cool one. He told me red-head lady jokes all day.

We went to the D-Day museum, also known as the "Geriatric Social Sample" museum. I was easily the youngest person in the whole museum.

We watched a movie talking about Pearl Harbor and the people who were there. I think I had seen it before on the History channel. The whole theater was sobbing through the whole thing. Except me.

One lady in the back was sobbing loudly. She was whoop-whooping -- if that's a word -- and it was distracting. An old man on the other side of me was continuously wiping his eyes. I was just a little uncomfortable.

Then we took the 10 minute elevator ride from Floor #1 to Floor #2.

My family went to the Pacific Theater portion of D-Day. I went to the Atlantic Theater. Just to get away for a while.

Fifteen minutes later my mom called my cell phone. They were down in the coffee shop and were ready to go whenever I was ready. My grandfather was overcome with memories and wasn't having a good time.

So, we left. We caught a trolly and went down to the French Quarter and had beignets and caf� au lait at Caf� Du Monde. I love going there just for the fun of watching everyone come and go. You see any and every kind of person in the whole world there.

I could spend hours there just watching. I have spent hours there just watching. And eating beignets.

We made it back to the car and back here by 8:30 last night. If I had hair long enough to do so, I would have ripped it out.

Never again.

Never again.


I saw it written in an actual publication the other day that such-and-such was the "bees knees."

I had to get someone to explain that to me. I had never heard that expression. Does anyone know the origin of that, other than it rhymes and sounds catchy? Tell me if you know.

I kinda like it.


Have you seen that Six Flags commercial with the old man dancing to the Vengaboys "We Like To Party (The Vengabus)"? I love it.

That's going to be me in 50 years. Big, ugly glasses and all. I get a good chuckle every time it comes on the TV.


Ok. That's it for me. Enterprise finally called and said definitely that I can't take my car overseas. Then they said that the Soldier's and Sailor's Act didn't apply to this kind of lease. I got that really sarcastic tone in my voice and laughed when she said that. I then said I would have my lawyer call tomorrow and clear things up.

She said, "He'll have to talk to my supervisor, but he'll just tell 'your lawyer' the same thing." She said "your lawyer" like I was bluffing.

Heh. I wish I could be a fly on the wall when this call is made.

Have a good day.

9:09 a.m. - Friday, Mar. 19, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster