mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A-dorfing I will go...

There's Sembach, the Air Force Base. That's where I live. And work.

Then there's Sembach, the village. A small village, about one-half square kilometer in size. It's cute. Some might call it quaint. It is a small village older than the United States.

I was bored on Saturday, so I decided to put on my walking shoes and tour the village.

Some things that struck me as strange:

1) The Germans love them some cigarettes, and they have cigarette vending machines everywhere. On poles standing on street corners. Bolted to the side of centry-old buildings. They are four Euros per pack.

2) They also put little quarter vending machines for useless crap everywhere as well. They had one machine for jewelry one might put into their pierced tongue if they are out on the town and suddenly realize that they forgot to put in their cool and trendy tongue ring. I have never had this problem.

3)I walked by a church. A simple country church still being used as a country church. Mennonite, I believe, though German Mennonites aren't the same as the American breed. I looked above the door to see the date the church was built: 1777. In America, this building would have been closed to the public and made into a museum. Why is it in the States, anything older than 75 years is considered meritworthy of a brown sign on the interstate and $2 admission for adults, like the famous Old Brick House of Biloxi, Mississippi.

4) The Germans don't have much to call yards, but boy howdy to they make them pretty. They have the most efficient and wonderful gardens to make Martha Stewart proud. (On a side note... I had to listen to my mom lecture me for an hour while I was home about how Martha is being made an example of because "she is a woman." Meet my mom, the bra-burning feminazi.)

It snowed here on Friday night, the winter I missed. The beauty of the snowfall was shattered by the sounds of Brooky-Brooke heaving into the toilet fom her one beer and two shots.

She's the light-weight.


She puked up a perfectly good baked pasta dinner I made for all of my tech-school buds.

On second thought, maybe it wasn't the alcohol but the baked pasta that made her heeve.


I am continuing to meet a lot of people. My next door neighbor is a girl from Indiana. She's very pretty, nice, and preggers.*

She's a little upset about it, but she's pushing on. She's very nice to me, and that's all I care about. She gets bored and comes over to see if I want to watch movies. "Not Another Teen Movie" kinda sucks, but there are boobs aplenty. We also watched the end of "Charlie's Angels part 1." I have never seen the movie all the way through, but I have seen the last 20 minutes about half a dozen times.

She introduced me to some guys upstairs and we went to Vogelweh AFB via the autobahn to do some shopping.

Riding down that is an experience everyone should have once in their life. Going 120 with the windows down is quite refreshing!


Ok. I am going. I have some major web surfing I need to do. You people are just waking up as I write this. Our daylight savings time was this weekend, so I am now eight hours ahead of home.

I'll update when I can.

*And I know what you are thinking. No. It isn't mine.

1:38 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 29, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster