mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kindof a crap weekend...

The scene: Pharmacy, Sembach AFB, Germany, about three weeks ago.

Me: Hi. I would like a refill of my medication. It keeps me level, happy, and normal.
Pharmacist: Oh, dear. I'm sorry. We don't have this medication here.
Me: Well, is there any way we can order it from Ramstein or Landstuhl?
Pharmacist: Actually, this medication is realtively new and it isn't anywhere in Germany. You'll have to get an appointment with the doctor and get a mailorder prescription.

It's been three weeks since I have been on the Lexapro that keeps me level, happy, and normal. I was hoping that, since I am away from the stress and hell that was Keesler AFB, I would go off of the meds and not miss a beat.

Instead, today, I couldn't leave my room. I slept for 17 hours. I had enough energy to take a shower and eat beef jerkey. I tried watching a few episodes of "Friends, Season 3", but never could make it through an episode.

Ugh. To have a normal head would be great. To live in a country that had the medicine I needed would be fabulous.


I had a date on Saturday night.

Actually... let me clarify. I had plans for a date. Coincidentally, I also have plans to win the lottery.


When I was going through BMT, and then through Keesler, I swore up and down that I wouldn't spend a day longer in the Air Force than my contract specified. I would move up the ranks as much as I was forced to during those six years and get out and go back into broadcasting.

Now that I am in the real Air Force, though, my plans are moving back to what they originally were: to become an officer.

I was talking to the education office last week and learned of a program called something along the lines of "Airman Education and Commissioning Program." Seems I'm a perfect candidate. There is a HUGE need for meteorologist officers. I have less than two years of school left towards a degree in it. And the program is super nice.

Let's assume I move back to Missouri for school. I automatically get bumped up to Staff Sergeant. My official job will be to go to school. I get paid SSgt. pay, get tuition free, get money for books, and get money for housing and food. I will be involved with the AFROTC while there, which is easy-peasy. And after I graduate, I pretty much instantly put on my butter bar.

I dunno. Sounds like a great deal to me.

Lt. Jon-Paul Brown. How does that sound?


I hope all of you had a decent weekend. I rented a car for the weekend, although I didn't give it much use. I went driving for five hours on Friday and came across this itty-bitty town in the valley between two large hills. On a hill immediately behind the town was this enormous old castle. Some king was pimpin', lemme tell ya. The sun was at a perfect evening angle to make the clay-brick walls illuminate an amazing orange glow.

But the castle wasn't being cared for, and a lot of the structure was missing, and there were vines and weeds growing over it all. It's a shame that such amazing history isn't being cared for, but allowing time to corrode the structure gave a whole different angle of beauty to both the castle and the small village right below it.

If it was turned into a tourist attraction, I would be bitching how it is a shame that they soil the sanctity of such a place.

Jeez. You can't make some people happy, can you?

11:07 p.m. - Monday, May. 17, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster