mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Boredom found its way to Europe.

Hey guys!

Sorry I haven't written in a while. I've been adjusting to some new meds. It's the same stuff I was on when I first started taking pills to keep me sane. Since I have been chemical-free for about a month, it takes a little getting used to when I go back on.

I haven't done all that much this week, except last night when Brooke and I went to dinner and a movie. We went and saw that movie "The Secret Window." It had that guy from "Oh Brother, Where Art Thou" and the guy from "Pirates of the Carribean." And it was based on a novella by Steven King.

The plot was a mix between "A Beautiful Mind" and "Misery." It was more like "Misery" with many of the exact same themes. I think ol' Steven King has run out of ideas.

We then went and had dinner at an Italian restaurant in Sembach village. I got something along the lines of fettucini gorgonzola. It wasn't bad.

That's pretty much been my week. Boring, I know.

Oh! I got the movie "Annie Hall" in the mail yesterday. Woody Allen flick. That's pretty much been the highlight of my week.

Oi.


I've been watching the first 30 minutes of Sesame Street every morning when I get ready for work. I first started watching it last week when I turned on the tube and James Gandolfini (aka Tony Soprano) was on telling all of us viewers that he is afraid of 1) the dark, and 2) the barber.

I have watched every day since, and I have a few concerns.

First off, I think Baby Bear needs to be sent to a speech therapist. He has difficulty forming his "R" sounds. This is one of the sounds that is almost unique to the English language and is relatively difficult to make, and some people need a therapist to come and train them to make that sound.

I also think Elmo has a learning disability. How old is Elmo these days? He has to be at least five or six, maybe older. And with his many years on Sesame Street learning the alphabet and hearing others around him talk, he still hasn't grasped the concept of speaking in first person. Perhaps it is some sort of psychological problem where he can't see himself as an individual within himself but sees himself only as a small unit that is part of a larger entity.

Wait a minute.

Elmo sees himself as only a screw in the larger machine. He is red. He teaches everyone to share all of their belongings and involve everyone in everything.

Oh, dear. Elmo is a communist.


I have plans for the weekend, but it involves a backstory.

*deep breath*

My uncle on my mom's side used to be a colonel in this here Air Force and was stationed over here in Germany for five years in which time he and my aunt met a nice German family that took them in and somewhat adopted them. When the aunt and uncle found out I was coming here they contacted said German family and gave them my information, and now the German family wants to adopt me and have me visit oftenly.

So, this weekend, the German family is coming to pick me up and I will spend Saturday and Sunday at their house. I'm excited because I will be staying in a real German neighborhood and see what the typical German family does when the doors shut and the blinds are closed.

I suspect everyone speaks English. Including the pets. And that this whole language barrier is a farse.

I dunno. It's just a sneaky suspicion I have.

11:19 a.m. - Thursday, May. 20, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster