mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"I'm sorry it's so small...\" he says.

It's the old Southern hospitality that will always be in me, but when new people arrive here at Sembach, I like to be the one who shows them around, gets them settled in, and makes them feel somewhat at home.

I did that yesterday for two fellow weather geeks. I use that term endearingly because that's what we are all called by the general Air Force public � weather geeks.

As normal, they had a million questions to ask, and the one question I hate getting is "So, what is there to do around here?" They mean around Sembach.

The only answer I can give is, "Well, there is a lot of sitting, watching DVDs, and playing X-Box. On Thursdays at the enlisted club is karaoke night, but that's the highlight of the week."

To have any kind of fun, you have to go off base. But to do anything off base you have to spend money. As my German "Dad" pointed out this weekend, nothing is free in Germany.

Just to park your car anywhere costs money. Even the weirdest spots are checked for parking tags. And if you go to a McDonald's or Burger King, you have to special order (and pay for) ketchup with your French fries.

It kinda sucks, but, you know, whatever. When in Rome, don't bitch about the Romans.


I got some pretty exciting news the other day.

When we get done with this last bit of weather school, we go down to the proverbial "Floor" to do our job. We are assigned areas for which to forecast and perform all of the responsibilities of a weather forecaster � warnings, advisories, watches, etc.

And, at times, we are sent on TDY � which means Temporary Duty Y-something � to our assigned areas to work there for a few weeks.

Luck shined down upon me, and I got two of the best spots. I got an Air Force base in northern Italy and one in southern Spain.

Spain!

Beautiful women, nude beaches, and wild nights!

A girl I know also has Italy and is going there for a month over the summer. That may be me next summer if I play my cards right. That, or I could be back in Missouri going back to school.

Tough choice. No, seriously.


I still don't have plans for this weekend. All I know is that Brooky-Brooke and I are doing something, we just don't know what. I'm thinking a long weekend on the Rhein, drinking wine� going out to dine�

There should not, could not be any lines�

There are several castles along the river that have been converted into hostels, and I am really excited about staying in some castles. They also have vineyards aplenty whose wine I want to sample. And I'm sure some of the small communities have bars and restaurants that are really great.

It'll be a fun weekend. I feel it.


Ok. Small entry today due to absolutely nothing going on.

Tchu�!

11:42 a.m. - Wed., May 26, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster