mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Berlin to Bertha

So, I bit the bullet and downloaded iTunes and bought my first song yesterday.

The Vengaboys -- "We Like To Party"

It's the song from that Six Flags commercial from a year or so ago with the old man getting off the bus and doing all of the funny dancing. So, when I downloaded it, I did a little jig in my apartment wearing only a t-shirt and boxers.

I am such an 80s movie waiting to happen.

"But JP, you are such an idiot," you say. "Don't you know you could have downloaded that song for free?"

Yes. I do know that. And I have downloaded songs for free in the past, but I won't do it any more.

I can no longer justify the reasons for stealing someone else's livelihood. If I were to write a book, for instance, and I depended on the lawful distribution of that book to feed my family, I would get awefully pissed if everyone and their brother were making photocopies of the book and giving them to their friends.

And without getting too political about things -- I've always believed that political opinions are like assholes, everyone has one and not a one of them is pretty -- I know how the likes of Michael Moore think about stealing things, and I don't want to be associated in any degree with his way of thinking.

I'm not lecturing. Go download free music if that's your thing. Just be able to justify it within your own mind and allow that justification to survive the proverbial test of time.


I got the tickets yesterday to go to Berlin.

Listen to this deal: Round trip train fare from Kaiserslautern (a town about 20 minutes away) to downtown Berlin on the ICE train -- the really fast train here -- with two nights in a ritzy downtown hotel, all for 150�.

We got the tickets to come back on Monday, but the attendant said that I could come back on Tuesday if I wanted. I would just lose my reserved seat and would have to sit on the floor if no other seat was available.

I'll see. Depends how much I like Berlin. I hear they have neat museums around there.


Oh! Some really neat news!

Next week I get to go on a special duty assignment for a whole day at a base near Heidelberg. I will be observing weather impacts on air traffic control, base operations, and helicopter flights.

I'll be going into the ATC tower watching planes come and go. I will then ride around base talking to people and seeing what all has to be done when I issue weather warnings.

And then, they are putting me in one of those nifty Blackhawk helicopters and flying me all around!

I have always wanted to ride in a helicopter, and this is flying in the mother of all awesome helicopters for my very first flight.

I wonder if they will serve me hot peanuts...

Somehow, I doubt it.

I will bring my camera and take tons of pictures for all of your viewing pleasures.


Ok. That's the news from here. Sorry there isn't much more to report.

I'm at work right now, but in a couple of hours I'm going to Brookey-Brooke's place to watch "Run, Lola, Run". I've never seen that movie, but I have seen Disney's low-budget remake, "Mosey, Bertha, Mosey". I liked the song and dance routines, but it lacked depth.

Have a good weekend!

11:20 a.m. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster