mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Oh my GAWD, it's BARRY MANNILOW!

Being an English major, I have my own set of grammar mistakes that grate me like the proverbial fingernails on the chalkboard.

Except they don't have chalkboards anymore, do they? A whole generation of boys is growing up without the fun of scraping their fingernails down the chalkboards and causing the girls to squirm, cringe, get chillbumps, and, as an effect of the chillbumps, get a case of the pointynipples.

Scraping your nails down the dry-erase board just doesn't have the same effect.

Anyway, my biggest grammar pet peeve is the notion that you can never, ever, unless you are some nasty hick living out in the sticks, use the word "me" in a sentence if there is someone else being mentioned in said sentence.

For example:

Bring the milk to mom and I.

And:

Dr. Phil had "relations" with my Dad and I.

It's me. With my Dad and me. To mom and me. "I" is used as a subject, not an object. People get that confused all of the time, and it irks to crap out of me.

Actually, I think the word "I" isn't used nearly as much in sentences as the word "me".

Keep that in mind, will ya?

Good.


AFN is our television network over here in Germany. They play a selection of the highest-rated shows a few days after they play in the States.

For instance, as I write this, Oprah is on with special guest Barry Mannilow. Imagine going to the Oprah show expecting a brand new car, and instead you get a thirty-minute concert by a guy some people call "Barely Manenough".

Whoot.

Anyway, besides Oprah and Dr. Phil, AFN otherwise sucks. There aren't any commercials like you get in the States. They have Public Service Announcements about buckling your seatbelt and turning off the water faucet. They also have a ton of Military Public Service Announcements that are cheesy as hell about not telling terrorists secrets and being careful what you talk about online.

I hope nobody in my chain of command reads this website!

The only news is the Pentagon News Channel, which is a big Military Public Relations news channel. It's not news at all. We get CNN every now and then, but CNN is just as biased as the Pentagon News Channel.

So, we have basically three channels of actual TV shows.

Note: Women in their upper-20's and up absolutely *LOVE* Barry Mannilow. I don't get it. Maybe that was my problem all of these years. I simply never thought to play Barry on a date. Hrmph.

Since my TV back home was almost always stuck on TLC, Discovery Channel, PBS, and Food Network, I am at a loss of decent TV.

It really sucks.

And that's all I really have to say. No point, really.

Yeah, yeah. I live in Europe for free, working a really easy job and given money to eat. And I'm complaining about the TV. My life is way too hard.


Barry Mannilow is a lot -- and I mean a LOT -- more popular than I thought.


On my next entry, I'm going to share a journal entry I wrote over ten years ago about what I wanted to do at some point in the future.

It is eerie. I love it.

But since I am at work right now, I can't run up to my room and get it, so you will have to wait until next time. Too bad.

So, until then, I will leave you with some Barry Mannilow quotes:

Oh Mandy the Psycho Lesbian Ex
Well you came and you gave without taking
And I sent you away
Oh, Mandy the Psycho Lesbian Ex......

9:37 a.m. - Thursday, Sept. 16, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster