mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dreams from ten years ago

Here is that journal entry I promised you yesterday.

This was written about ten years ago during one of the English classes I took before deciding that I was going to major in English. That will account for its choppiness and lack of... "oomph". We had to write journal entries on given topics -- you know the assignment -- and this topic was "Vacation."

I love the fact that I wrote this so long ago and have had the dreams I wrote about all come true.

And so I give you...


Vacation

If I could vacation regularly, I would first tour the country and then the world.

But that is assuming that I would have the means to travel regularly. Travelling costs too much to do whenever I wish, so I would have to narrow my destination down to one place every couple of years.

Choosing one place isn't that hard for me. I would actually like to visit that one place perminantly. This place is Germany.

What would I like to do there? Mostly, I would just like to experience the German culture. I would probably stay away from the tourist trap places. I would like to visit the small towns. They have a lot more to offer and are much cheaper, too. I would enjoy a bike ride through the countryside and a hike through the hills.

Also, it would be fun to hang out in an old tavern or a pastry shop and just watch the people who go in. I would like to sit and observe what they do and say, even if I couldn't understand everything they were saying.

I don't know why I have this love for Germany. But I do, and there is only one thing I know that can quinch the German thirst.


So, there ya go. A journal entry ten years vintaged.

You know... if "vintage" was a verb.


What are you doing for the weekend?

I haven't any real plans. Chris and I will probably head into Kaiserslautern for breakfast and a coffee. We have to get train tickets for Oktoberfest. Maybe a new shirt. I dunno.

That's the extent of my weekend planning. Yours has got to be more interesting.

Whatever you are doing, I hope it is a nice one.

9:56 a.m. - Friday, Sept. 17, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster