mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A day of tests.

It's no secret. I hate -- with the purest, whitest, most perfect form of hate -- running.

There are, relatively speaking, only a very few people who enjoy running. They are the people who get some kind of joy out of the event. There is something wrong with them, I think.

Running hurts! It makes my lungs fill completely up (well, not completely, but close to it. Two-thirds full is more like it...) with the greenest, brownest, and lumpiest mucus you could imagine. I cough and spit, and it looks like a fall wreath Martha Stewart would make if she weren't in prison:

The very few people who like to run get some kind of superiority complex over the majority of us who don't like to run. It's an aerobic apartheid.

The Air Force is lead by one of these people who thinks everyone should run and like it, dammit. People are literally being discharged from the military with less than honorable marks on their record because they simply can't run fast enough.

Yes, I took my running test today. Actually, about eighteen hours ago. I am still hocking up nasty colors like that pretty wreath above. My lungs hurt. They burn. There is a wheezing and whistling down there when I take a deep breath.

Ideally, I am supposed to run a mile and a half in about nine minutes, thirty second. That's the ideal. I ran it the first time a couple of months ago in fifteen minutes, thirty seconds. I failed miserably. It meant that I would have had to spend three days a week at organized PT classes.

It doesn't matter that I volunteer many hours a week helping to improve the squadron and the area around me. I am a pretty decent weather forecaster. I have yet to miss forecasting a lightening strikes within five miles of a particular target. But ooooo-lordy, I can't run as fast as some people, so this makes me a bad Airman.

Well, today, I cut two minutes off that original time. My official time today was 13:32. I passed by the skin of my teeth. Yay. I'm a good little Airman.

I still hate running.


I'm taking a 250-question practice test for a meteorology test I have to take in a few weeks.

I have a very, very hard time sitting still and concentrating with 100-question tests. I get all jittery and I don't care what answers I put down. I just want it to be over.

Now, multiply the feelings for a 100-question test by two and a half, and voila. I'm going out of my mind.

Correction. The test is 286 questions. I'm dying over here.


I'm going back to Luxembourg City over the weekend. My French is getting a workout. Two weeks in a row of Wees, Nons, and Mersy BooCoos.

Luxembourg is an entire country not quite the size of Rhode Island. You could easily ride your bike across the country in one day. You could walk it in just a few days more.

Germany, on the other hand, is roughly the same size as the state of Montana, yet it has the population of 1/3 of the United States in that one small area. I find that fact interesting. There isn't much open space here.

This entry is now boring me. I will end it so I can get back to question 147, which is literally this: Explain why the sky is blue.

The answer?

Short-wave radiation is reflected by atmospheric particles smaller than .5 microns.

Answers were so much easier when we were kids.

12:27 a.m. - Thursday, Oct. 07, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster