mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Officers with no sense of humor really piss me off.

Here's my luck:

We have one real jackass of a supervisor on my flight at work. And, of all of the supervisors I could have gotten, I got him.

He's a 1st Lt., 26 years old, and was assigned to weather because he failed out of the pilot program for some reason or the other. This guy is 100% all business. He doesn't joke. He doesn't kid. He doesn't like to create any kind of trusting, two-way relationship with his underlings.

He's the kind of guy they warned us about at boot camp.

A few weeks ago, I got a small feather up my butt and decided I wanted to make a go at Airman of the Quarter. I don't know why I cared for the few minutes it took for me to write him an email saying that I wanted it.

If you know me at all, you know I could care less about awards like "Airman of the First Monday of a Month That Contains a Blue Moon." It's all about, "Hey, love me this week/month/day/minute.!" I don't care if you think I'm great or not. Just let me come in and do my job so I can make a paycheck in order to do the things I really like to do.

Anyway, so these long-ass tests we have to take. The Lt.'s plan to have me become Love-Me of the Quarter is to have me do really well on the tests. Yesterday, he came up to me in the middle of work and said, "So, Brown... I want the two of us to sit down and I'll watch you take that test. When you make above a 90, you can go home."

Ok. Fair enough. Not that bad. So I said, "Hey! Why don't you take it alongside me and we'll see who does better?" I said it jokingly like I would say it to anybody else. It was a friendly little bet just to make a 300-question test seem a little more fun.

Tonight, he pulled me into his office and told me my "comments last night contained too much attitude, and you need to watch my mouth."

What the hell?!

This, of course, pissed me off. Who thinks like this? Who can't have any sort of lighthearted banter between two normal people without thinking it's some sort of intentional insult?

It's people like that who make me not want to stay in the military.


I'm planning a trip to California next March.

Well, Christina's planning. I'm tagging along for the ride.

She's from a town made widely known by Creedence Clearwater Revival's Lodi. It's about an hour and a half west of San Francisco, and another forty-five minutes south of Sacramento.

I am definitely excited about 'Frisco. Chris told me about the seals that come ashore. You can supposedly walk right down to them. I am most excited about this possibility. I will take many pictures.

Hmm. What else can I get excited about in San Francisco? Tell me!


I only got two submissions to my photo project. One person wants a picture of a stray cat, though that may be hard. There aren't too many stray animals in Germany. Whatya think's in the burgers?

Another person wants a picture of a plate after I am done with it. That'll be an interesting one to explain to the Girl, who doesn't quite yet know about this site.

"Um. Yes. Good observation. 'Why am I taking a picture of my once full -- but now empty -- plate of food?' Let's sit and think of the deeper meanings of that question for a while, shall we?"

I need more suggestions! C'mon. Don't be shy!

In case you have no clue what I am talking about... I am doing a photo project where people give me "assignments" of things to photograph, and I will have to go out and photograph their wishes.

So, in order for this to work, I need for you to send me ideas. Inundate me with ideas. No idea is a bad idea!


Ok. That's it from here. I hope you are all having great weeks.

My birthday is THURSDAY, people. Send the emails saying how much of a god I am to you. Even if it is a lie, it'll make my day.

Until then...

10:48 p.m. - Tuesday, Oct. 12, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster