mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A birthday and a boring weekend

It was probably one of the most uneventful of all of my birthdays. But it was nice.

Christina, on her way to work, brought my first birthday present of the day to my work. It was a music stand so I can practice my violin without getting pissed because the music won't balance on my stack of books.

(As a side note... violin chicks are a hot bunch.)

I was going to treat myself to Naked Spa, but the website said that it doesn't open until 10:00, and I was asleep by 9:30, halfway through Dr. Phil. For some reason, I didn't wake up until almost 7:00 in the evening.

Christina made a whole pan of her mama's lasagna -- made with cream cheese, of all things -- and a freshly made German-chocolate cake, my favorite. Both were really good.

Other things I got:

  • A case (almost) of my favorite deoderant from my dad. Just what I asked for. I also got the 2005 edition of Writer's Market so I can maybe make some pocket money by writing some travel and food articles.
  • $50 from my mom. You can't write much about money.
  • My granny sent a made-from-scratch sour cream pound cake. It is so good, as they say, it'll make you slap yo' grandma. It is especially good with a fresh pot of coffee.
  • Christina rounded out my gifts with a nice, colorful apron and a cell phone with all of the extras (car adaptor, new casing, etc.). Someone at work said it was an electronic leash. We'll see about that.

I hate that I slept through my birthday, but it just made it really relaxing. Everyone at work thinks I am extremely old, but they don't realize that once 21 hits, 22-26 go by quicker than you can imagine. I'm sure 27 won't be any different.


Over the weekend, Chris, Sara (Saggy-Booby Sara), and I hopped in the BMW and drove up to Koblenz to drive down the Rein Road. It's a long road that goes from Mainz to Cologne, with Koblenz being the half-way mark.

It was cold and rainy for most of the day, so we didn't do too much getting out of the car. I made the exception every time we saw a roadside stand selling different seasonal things. We ended up spending about 20� on about a dozen bottles of really good regional wine. I can't wait to drink it down.

We then stopped in Rudesheim to do some shopping and eat dinner. By then, it had gotten really cold and sprinkly, so we found us a really nice place to eat that had outside eating with huge outdoor heaters. It was a really nice meal.

I got a huge pork knuckle, mashed potatoes, and sauerkraut. It was all really good. Chris got the best porkchop I have ever eaten, and I want to go back just to eat what she had... and try to figure out how they made it.

They downed a bottle of wine apiece and then got one to go, making a racket as two girls do while drunk on wine in the middle of Germany. I was exhausted due to a very early morning wake-up due to a messed up body clock.

The topic of past sexual experience came up and drunken information came out that I didn't want to hear. So, I was tired, grumpy, and ready to get home by the time the evening was drawing to a close.

I have pictures from the day that I will likely post tomorrow. So come back for the continuation of this tale.


Sunday: Ate lunch at my favorite Italian restaurant, got very sleepy on one of the best Italian wines I have ever tasted, and drove almost an hour to an Ikea that, as it turns out, is closed on Sundays.

Came back and crashed. I woke up at 4:30 Sunday morning because of a whole bunch of people outside my window thought a 4:30am post-bar party would be a really great idea.

I need a big can of pepper spray for occasions like that.


Reading other peoples' diaries and blogs, it seems like everyone else had as much of an exciting weekend as I did. It's getting too cold and rainy here to get out and do much.

So, that's it from over here. Tune in tomorrow for pictures.

4:34 a.m. - Monday, Oct. 18, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster