mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A homophobic ghost lives in my DVD player.

My DVD player hates gays.

Or movies about gays and the issues that surrounded the gay community during the mid-1980s. And so does my TV.

You won't believe this, so I don't know why I am writing it. But I promise to you that it is true.

All weekend long, the Lady and I sat around watching all kinds of movies, but most of our attention was focused on Sam Beckett floating through time on a quantom string. ("Quantum Leap" in case you didn't read the previous entry...). The DVD player and TV worked fine.

This is where it gets weird.

We get the second half of Angels in America and put it in the DVD player. I close the door, and all of a sudden the DVD player starts "shaking and twitching like its legs was broken."*

I figure the disk got a little off kilter when it was doing the opposite of ejecting. So, I pressed the eject button, and nothing happened. After turning it off and on and shaking it a bit, I decide to pry open the DVD holder/drive thingie.

I almost broke two knives -- two METAL knives -- in half trying to break into the DVD player. The door was NOT budging.

I had to go down to the building where I work and borrow a screwdriver to take the entire casing that surrounded the guts of the DVD player in order to get into the damn machine.

I finally break in, realize that the DVD is perfectly situated in there, and further realize that there is a mechanical problem with all of the cogs and spinny-winnies preventing the door from unlocking itself to eject. Fine. I can do it manually if I have to. Just play my damn movie!

So, I get everything hooked back up, turn off the lights, lay down on the couch, and realize the TV is as dark as can be. Only the brightest whites are showing up. What the hell?

I go turn on my lights to take a look at the wires. But by the time I walk to my TV, it's picture is perfect. Picture perfect!

Great! Self-healing wound. My favorite.

I then turn off the light, and then see that the TV has gone to the dark side again.

What the...?

I turn off one light, and dark. I turn it back on, bright. I turn off the other light, and still bright. I turn off the first one again.... dark.

Let me mention that the lights and the TV do NOT share the same plug. In fact, the lights are the kind where the
switch is on the wall.

So... somehow, my TV-viewing experience is dependant on whether the one lightbulb directly above it is turned on, which makes movie watching terrible because of the glare.

Has anybody ever had this problem with their TV? I keep wondering if I was dreaming, but I know I wasn't.

I think so, anyway...

(*: The humpty dance is your chance to do the hump!)


It's funny how different people describe different things.

I showed our resident weather guru the following satellite loop that contained this shot. It's a lot more impressive in a loop, believe me.

I said something along the lines of, "Look! The Death Star just exploded over the Med!"

He said, "Wow! What is that? The ghost of Arafat?"

Turns out you can see things in the clouds even when you are looking from above.

By the way, that's looking at the eastern Mediterranean into Turkey to the north and Syria to the east. Iraq is to the far east, but I cropped it out.


I've run about five miles in two days, and my legs feel like they are about to fall off.

I don't care what you say. Running can not be good for you. It hurts way too much. It's not fun. You never really get anywhere.

Some people just aren't made to run. That somebody is me.

10:17 a.m. - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster