mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A quick count

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

While you are busy counting your blessings (I used to think you were supposed to literally count your blessings, so I decided we blessed our food on average of four nights a week, so four times 52. That makes 208 blessings a year...), here is a list -- in no particular order -- of things I am thankful for on Thanksgiving:

  1. Being healthy
  2. Having a steady, dependable job with benefits out the wazoo
  3. Having a good group of friends
  4. Brooke, my bestest friend. She knows not how wonderful she truly is, no matter how many times I tell her.
  5. Lady Christina. I'm also thankful she made it back from doing Army stuff in one piece.
  6. All of my friends back in Missouri, Mississippi, and freckled all over the world.
  7. The Dawn of Terra. She knows everything about me... yet she still likes me.
  8. Wine.
  9. Diaryland, Livejournal, and all of the other websites I frequent (see sidebar to the left).
  10. British accents
  11. Boobs.
  12. Nutella.
  13. Really good books.
  14. Really good movies.
  15. Alison Krauss, Norah Jones, Mindy Smith, Tom Petty, Evanescence, Nickle Creek, and other stuff I listen to every day.
  16. The fact that I live in Europe and have seen more in the past eight months than 95% of the American population see in their lifetime.
  17. I've had a thousand good times for every bad.
  18. Sunny days
  19. Rainy days
  20. The fact that I work so little at work.
  21. My parents, step-parents, step-relatives who I almost feel closer to than real relatives, real relatives I hardly ever see, my sister and her two daughters.
  22. Beer, bratwurst, sauerkraut, bread, and all of the other German food staples.
  23. People who let me take pictures of them.
  24. A cool new satellite that makes my job easier. You can take a picture like this and zoom down to one kilometer. With a resolution like that, you can almost see roads and large buildings.
  25. Carbonated water

That's all I can really think of on the spur of the moment. I know there are millions of other things, and I will feel bad about forgetting them.

Right now, I need to go and call my folks. I hope everyone has a good turkey day. Eat lots for those of us who can't make it home for the holidays.

12:41 p.m. - Thursday, Nov. 25, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster