mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You'd be surprised at just how bored I really am.

Not much to report from the land of Picayune, Mississippi.

Other than the fact that I got this directly from Merriam-Webster Online:

picayune (pi-kE-'y�n): of little value ; see also : PETTY, SMALL-MINDED

Dang. It's bad enough when you don't feel like your home town is worth all that much, but you know it is much, much worse when one of the leading authorities in lexicography (look it up, kids) agrees with you.

The other day, my mom and I were at the store to pick up some fixins for one of my famous salads. We ran into a woman whom I haven't seen since I graduated from High School.

After a brief bit of talking, asking where I have been, what I have been doing, etc., etc., she said something along the lines of, "Well, you sure do talk nice!"

I took her to mean, "You sure do sound like a nice, educated man who has been working hard on an English degree." So, to answer this, I said, "Well, I have been living up north for the past five years," which I meant to say, "Yes, I have been studying hard on my English degree and have learned that, to sound educated, you must talk like you have an education."

Except nobody heard what I meant to say. They just heard me saying, "It took five years of living away from you uneducated idiots for me to talk like a normal person."

My mom kicked me. The conversation ended. We left very quickly. It took a whole day for me to take the foot out of my mouth.


I have 21 more days until I head off to boot camp. Can you believe it? Twenty-one days.

Don't worry. My friend Mike will be transcribing letters I write to him onto this here diary. That's assuming I will have the time and/or energy to write letters.

By the way time flies, twenty-one days will come and go as quickly as you can say snot, and the following six weeks will fly by. Before you know it, I'll be 80, still single, and still keeping a diary for all of you little ones to read.

Because when you are 80, everyone is a little one.


Ok. Can you tell I have absolutely nothing to write about?

I should call it a night. I have to be up in four hours so I can work on the dock at my dad's. We went last night to get 27 decking boards (who knew there were different types of boards?!) so I can finish the dock while my poppa works.

To the best of my knowledge, I won't be getting paid for this. It's just to keep me occupied so I don't get bored and eat 24/7.

I'm sure there will be several pictures taken. So tune in tomorrow for another great view of my so-white-they're-blue legs.

Woot.

12:01 a.m. - Mon., May 6, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster