mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Twelve hours and one tornado later...

Well, I am home safely. But barely. From the look of news reports, that wall of water and hail I hit going 75 mph was the remnants of a tornado.

I have never driven out of a rain shower shaking as much as I did this one. The wind was blowing so hard that I had a hard time pulling over. And when I finally got the car over to the edge of one of those little cliffs they carve out of the hills while making the road (you know what I am talking about), the rain and hail were actually blowing OVER my car.

It was the freakiest thing I have ever experienced.

But other than driving through a tornado, I had a rather uneventful twelve-hour drive.

Well, it was supposed to take twelve hours. I did it in eleven hours and fifteen minutes.

One thing I noticed now that I have a working CD player in my car is that radio stations absolutely SUCK. No wonder so many people are illegally burning their favorite tunes to enjoy in the car. It's because radio stations have turned into complete crap.

The only stations that kept my interest more than half a song were the talk stations. Dr. Laura rawks. I want a spanking from her. I got financial advice from one guy, tons of gift ideas from a guy-girl couple, and loads of different news stories from National Public Radio.

I think all stations have three songs that they are allowed to play. And so they play those three songs as many times as they can between the 100 commercials they must play in an hour.

And pop culture dictates that the three songs must sound all alike. So, really, it is one song played in the style of country, R&B, and "rock" over and over, all day long.

How did I ever survive without a CD player in my car?


If you tried to email me over the past 36 hours or so -- or if you tried to view my image pages or anything like that -- you will probably receive an error. My ISP is having issues. I will call tomorrow and see what the fark is up.

When I get it all back up and running, you can re-send the emails and good lovin'.

Oh, such harsh language on this diary.


Well, that's it from the JP home office. Twelve hours of driving has a way of sucking every bit of creativity out of you. Don't worry, though, as I am sure tomorrow will offer tons of stories.

I have to take my sis and niece to the doctor's office tomorrow afternoon. That is usually a hoot. I actually know her doctor quite well. I went to boarding school with her daughter. Cool girl. Cool mom. She's VERY Indian, thick accent and all. Which makes it funny when she tries to crack jokes.

Ok. I'm outta here.

11:06 p.m. - Wed., Dec. 18, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster