mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"One minute to say goodbye before we say hello."

Wowsers. What a year!

I can honestly say that this has been one of the best years I have ever had. It has truly been a year full of happiness. Looking back in my memory banks, I can�t think of hardly anything this past year that will negatively impact my life at any great lengths. I�ve had a few people who have tried � rather unsuccessfully � to bring me down. They have come in the form of egg-throwing lesbian ex�s to cast iron-stealing, $300-owing, stinky, fatass roommates.

I know this is going to sound overly mushy and cheesy, but who cares. I love you guys. The one thing that has made the very few negative aspects of this year extremely bearable is this diary and those of you who care enough to send your most excellent comments. If I have a crappy day, all I know I have to do is write a little rant, and I will get ten emails cheering me up and keeping me going in the right direction. And for that, I think all of you dearly. I may not get a chance to reply to all of you, but each of your emails means a lot to me.

I�m sure you are all teary-eyed. So, I will try and list some of the highlights of my year:

  • Getting back into the dating scene. I took over a year off of dating when Mandy the Psycho Lesbian Ex left back in October of 2000. 2001 was a year of growing and soul-searching, and 2002 was a fantastic year of getting comfortable trusting women again. It has been a slow, uphill climb, but I�m getting better at it, and I�m having a crap-load of fun. Just don�t tell any girls I date that I compare the amount of fun we have to a load of crap. Prolly won�t go over well.
  • Losing weight. That year off of dating really made me get tight in the slacks. I ballooned up to 215 pounds, making me a certifiable chub. Thanksgiving 2001 at my grandmother�s made me realize that I should start losing some weight. She kept commenting how fat I was. The decision to join the Air Force really got that weight loss going. I am now below 190, and I am set to lose another 10 pounds before May of this year.
  • Joining the Air Force. More out of necessity than out of the honorable �wanting to serve my country,� I am enlisting to get the education money benefits before I switch over to the officer side. Have you ever tried getting a decent job with great benefits with a bachelor�s degree in English? No? Well, I have a feeling you�d join the Air Force as well.
    Gaining a niece. She is officially the cutest kid in the world, that Darien. She will laugh, clap, smile, and play. Until she has to poop. The she will stop, get a glassy look in her eyes, her face goes red, and she goes, �Errrrrrrrrrrrrrrrgh!� Ah, good ol� baby potty humor.
  • Working in a restaurant. My restaurant stint was a short one, but I learned so much in that short amount of time. It was a great experience, and I wish I could make a sustainable living off of it. I�m sure I will find another restaurant to work in part-time when I get settled into my new life. It was such a fantastic change from broadcasting.
  • Publishing a story. Kinda. I had my travelogue (I am at work and can�t link to it at the moment) published on a very popular and busy hostelling website. It isn�t the biggest writing accomplishment, but it is a start. I am hoping to get more stories and articles out in �03.
  • A kick-ass birthday. I had one of the best birthdays ever this year. I spent a couple of days in St. Louis with some amazing people. I had friends take me out. I got lots of phone calls. I got to visit my family. In short, I was made to feel very loved this year. Outstanding!
  • Getting a new car. I got a new car on November 15, and since then I have already put on 6,000 miles. It is much roomier than my old car, which was very hard to make out in the back seat.

Who can I talk to so I can get more years like this past one?

As much as I am happy about this past year and about how successful it was, I am equally scared and anxious about the coming one. Never have I been so unsure about how the year will draw out. My life will come to a dramatic and extreme change in May, and I am equally excited and anxious about it.

Scared is a good word.

But I have dreams and goals. And Thorough said that I should advance confidently in the direction of those goals. Doing so will result in unequaled success. Sometimes you have to sacrifice a few luxuries and comforts in the short run to get more in the long run. So, I am taking a few blind-faith steps in a very strange direction for me. 2003 will prove to be quite an exciting experiment.


I hope you all have a safe, exciting new year. I am waking up at 4am tomorrow morning and loading up a van towards Leadville, Colorado, for a few days of skiing and sight-seeing. Lows are supposed to be below zero for the whole week, so I may be spending much of my time just trying to stay warm.

I should be able to update from there. I will be bringing my laptop and digital camera, so you will undoubtedly be showered with ample amounts of pictures.

I also got a brand new pair of boxers just for this skiing trip, so you can probably expect to see some fresh undie pics when I get back.

I bet you are just bubbling with excitement.

Take care. Drink plenty of bubbly for me. And�

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

9:51 a.m. - Tues., Dec. 31, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster