mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's about time I mention my opinion on Canadians

God bless Canadians.

I say that with just a tinge of sarcasm that usually accompanies getting a roll of quarters from a bank and finding that several of the quarters are really, in fact, Canadian coins that merely look kind of like American quarters.

Except they are worth, like, two cents. Actually, I think I have to pay the bank to exchange them. Canadians can't seem to handle their monetary affairs, so their exchange rate has gone to shit.

Therefore, I couldn't do an entire load of laundry because of those damned Canadians getting their wrothless coinage mixed up in the obviously superior American Quarter.

I say we should put up a big wall on the border and shoot anybody who tries to bring Canadian quarters across to the homeland. That way, I won't be inconvenienced. Hrumph.


I went to my violin lesson today. Which absolutely blowed. I haven't had much time at all over the past two weeks to sit and do some proper practicing.

That's pretty much a lie. I've had tons of great opportunities to do so, but when given the choice of doing something to expand both my intellectual horizons and repertoire of neat skills or sitting around in my undies watching the Man Show...

Well, it doesn't take much thought to make that decision.

So, this was how my practice went:

Twinkle, twinkle little *SCREEECH* How I wonder what you*RIIIIIIIP*

I, personally, am blaming the Canadians for preventing my interest in practicing. Them and their crazy electromagnetic rays, piercing my brain as to keep me from improving myself. Maybe that way, their quarters will be worth more than two pennies.

That's American pennies. Canadian pennies aren't worth a single Mexican red cent.


Oh! Great news!

Remember way back at the beginning of the year when I set up this years' goals and resolutions? I would link to the actual diary entry, but remember? The Canadians are keeping me from taking initiative.

One of those goals was to get published in an actual print something-or-other. Well, I submitted some poetry to a literary journal a few months ago. And just this week, guess what I gooooot!

An acceptance letter!

As the wise sage once said: Woot!

I'll be offering signed versions as soon as it comes out. Of course, they will be sold at outrageously inflated prices so I can make a little extra dough.

But then again, that only applies to Canadians. To the Americans in da house, it'll be a quarter.

6:12 p.m. - Thurs., Feb. 6, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster