mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The decision has been made (mostly)

Some decisions just end up being made without any help from me

Remember last week I needed your opinion in a decision I was trying to make? If you don't quite recall, I'll just mention quickly that I was trying to decide if I should quit my job early before leaving for the Air Force so I could travel the country a bit.

I got plenty of loverly emails from many of you saying that I should go ahead, quit, and come visit you.

I didn't realize I had such an effect on some of you ladies.

And one guy.

So, Saturday came along and I was still struggling with my decision, despite so many great emails. I am a person who needs a sign. Something concrete to tell me what I should do. I've lived by that rule my whole life, and it has led me on many great adventures. It's definitely a "tried and true" method for me. It drives most of the women in my life mad. Girls generally don't understand it when I just pack up one day and leave.

Anyway, so I went to my DEP meeting on Saturday (once again, for those who still don't get it, that's Delayed Enlistment Program, for the Air Force) and one of the guys I've been getting to know over the past month or so showed up. His name's Justin, he's about my age, and he has a strikingly similar past to mine (psycho girlfriend, bad breakup, etc.).

Out of the blue, he mentioned that in mid-March he was loading up his car and going travelling until mid-to-late April, when he was coming back to get shipped off. I asked if he wanted a travel buddy, and he shot back a very quick "yes."

Which, in all respects, sounds like a sign to me.

And another sure sign came to me in a magazine I picked up at the recruiter's office. It had information for people in DEP. One of the things it mentioned was that, as a DEP person, I was considered a part of the "Inactive Reserves," thereby allowing me access to Air Force bases all around the country.

Including hotels on AF bases, which are cheap, cheap, cheap. And I will also have access to the cafeterias. Again, cheap, cheap, cheap. When I went to Scott AFB near St. Louis a month ago, I had a very full lunch of ravioli, a banana, a glass of coke, and two cookies. The whole thing cost a whopping 95�.

Which fits into my budget quite nicely.

That was two signs within about thirty minutes that I should quit my job, hit the road, and enjoy the hell out of life for two months before going to boot camp.

So... I think I'm going to do it. What do I have to lose, right?

Who else of you lives on the east coast besides Sinnamon and Nicole? I would love to meet some of you. Especially if you live in the Jersey/New York area. I plan on spending a good bit of time over there.


And speaking of Sinnamon... She got engaged over the weekend! Everybody send her your best regards and wishes.

She already said that she would like to meet me. Which will be a little... I dunno... weird for me. Sinnamon was the very first person on Diaryland that I ever read. It was her diary that inspired me to get started on my very own.

So, I have read her basically from the very beginning of both of our Diaryland adventures. I know this sounds weird and cheesy, but I kinda see her as somewhat of an online celebrity. I'm going to be gushing all over her, and she's going to think I'm a big dork.

Which is what usually happens when I meet girls for the first time.


I got an email from my former 3rd and 8th grade teacher. Same woman.

It said:

I was just looking at your photo gallery. I was quite impressed with your weiner picture.

Heh. I wish more women would say that to me.


Well, folks. That's about it from the JP farm. Lots of good news and signs and things to think about.

I need to start packing, which is absolutely no fun at all. I need to sell my furniture. I have lots of stuff, if anybody is interested. I also need to see about getting my health insurance extended for a couple of months. And... and...

Ugh. This is going to be stressful.

8:49 p.m. - Sun., Feb. 16, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster