mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm not racist. Really!

I swear to all that is good and holy.

I will not ever, never, any more in my entire life, drink any more alcohol. Not one drop. Not one iota. Nothing. Natta.

I don't know if that is my brain talking or the four beers, three shots, and large Long Island Iced Tea. And it'll probably change once someone puts a mighty fine glass of oak-aged merlot in front of me. But as of this second, I am swearing off alcohol.

Especially on nights when it is below freezing and I end up leaning over in some random person's front yard, praying to any god that would listen to please, PLEASE take me out of my misery.

I think it was the large Long Island that sent me way over the top. I get them made with raspberry vodka. They are my weakness.

Ok. Yuck. I am making myself sick. I'll shut up now.


I remember the day when libraries were supposed to be quiet places of intellectual advancement. You could go there and study, read, do research, or just nap in some of the bigger chairs. That last part is usually reserved for the old men, though.

This obviously does not apply to the Columbia Public Library, also known as the World's Ugliest Library (WUL).

I'm not intending to be racist or anything here, but I am just stating the facts, ma'am. It seems like the WUL, to Columbia's black community, appears to be one giant jungle gym and play house. Every time I go, the young black kids are running around on every floor chasing each other and screaming with laughter. The older black people (in the early to late teens) are doing the same, but are yelling from one floor to the next and make a rather large boom when they trip one another and fall to the floor.

And it's only black people. No whites do this. No Asians. No Indians, nor Native Americans for that matter. Just the blacks.

And, God help me to understand this, not one of the black boys knows how to buy pants. Every single one of the black boys -- and I'm not kidding here -- has bought their jeans so large that they hang around their knees! Someone needs to call Jesse Jackson over here and claim that the white folks are restricting the blacks from buying reasonably sized jeans. Shame on us.

Now, the reasonable Librarian would ask for those in the library who are making such a racket to leave and go to the park -- which is right down the road -- to scream and yell and wear their clothes too big. But my town is so liberal and "progressive" that they obviously think that since we put the black man down for so long, we can allow them to soil the quiet sanctity of the library. Not a single librarian said a word to the many, many scumbags who have made the library into a nightclub.

Yes, I know this makes me sound all racist. But when one specific group of people is doing something that is so abhorrent, I think they should be called out and identified.


Ok. That's all of my ranting.

I need to take a hot shower, drink some black coffee, and go study some more grammar stuff like morphemes, allomorphs, inflectional paradigms, word bases, free affixes, infixes, ad nausium.

Have I mentioned I hate my grammar class? Well, I do.

1:18 p.m. - Thurs., Feb. 20, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster