mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Is your Potter Harry?

I mentioned yesterday that I was off to see the brand new Harry Potter flick, which is exactly what I did.

What I failed to mention is that, to see the newest Harry Potter, I had/got to sit through the first two movies.

Nine freaking hours of Harry Potter. Count 'em, NINE hours. In one seat. Watching three prepubescent kids run around and save the magical world from tyranny and really large snakes.

You can't tell me the military hasn't taught me endurance and stamina.

The really sad thing? I not only willingly chose to do this, but I made plans about two weeks ago to go to the Harrython. Brooke, Cag (another girl I kinda work with), and I headed over to the Kino at around 4:30 yesterday after work. I took three diet pills before going to stave off the hunger and to keep me awake. Cag and Brooke? Nothing.

Cag crashed early, during the second movie. She crashed so hard that she just lay down on the floor. Granted, it is a German movie theater and thus very clean. But still� Ew.

Brooke and I were going pretty good during the first two movies. The second movie somewhat sucked the big one because the audio kept messing up. It would cut out for about 10 minutes at a stretch at which time Brooke and I made up our own dialogue. I had the whole theater laughing at one of the things I said, which made me feel good. Look at me! I'm funny!

After the audio would come back on, the next thirty or forty-five minutes would be German dialogue. That sucked worse than no audio because you couldn't make up new dialogue, but you couldn't understand what was being said.

The third movie � the newest movie � started at midnight. My stamina was wearing thin at the beginning, and I knew it would be a struggle to stay awake. Since Cag slept through the first one, she was good to go during the last one. Brooke snored. Literally snored. And she sleeps with her mouth open when sitting in a movie theater. Then again, we probably all do.

"The Prizoner of Azkaban" was really, really good. Probably the best out of the three movies. It was much darker than the other two, there were a lot of scarier scenes, and it was also much funnier. I guess since the kids are older, they are able to handle more mature material.

There was also a lot more depth to this movie. As one who hasn't read any of the books, it was all a mystery to me. I won't make too many specific comments about the movie out of concern for revealing too much for those like me who don't know what to expect, but this movie left you somewhat confused for about three-quarters of it and, without blatantly explaining it to you, made you understand it all on your own in the last quarter. I'll just say that last quarter wasn't anything I was expecting, and I was pleasantly surprised.

Overheard by some teen girl behind me: "What's up with them wearing normal clothes in this one?"

So, yeah. It was really, really good. Go see it.


I am going canoeing this weekend on the border of Germany and Luxembourg. Is that cool or what?

Levi, from the Italy and Nuremberg trips will be coming along with me.

I don't know if I will bring my camera, me being in a very thin boat in the middle of a river and all. Especially with Levi. Just look at those pics with him in it. Yes, he is as evil as he looks.


And finally, I am Switzerland, which actually makes a lot of sense.


You're Switzerland!
While most people think you're sort of stuck up, it's really just that people don't interest you that much. �That's why you'd rather just stay out of everything and be as neutral as possible. �Somewhere in there is an ability to be a psychiatrist because you're so objective, but you might just be too cold for that.
Take

the Country Quiz at the

Blue Pyramid

9:13 p.m. - Thurs., June 3, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster