mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

9-11

Dum-da-da-DUUUUMMMM!! As a public service to all of you who wants to read something else besides terrorists declaring war on the US, I will write about something else.

Hmmm.... I need a--

No. Unimportant.

My cookdate went...

Nah. Doesn't matter.


Ok, so I am going to talk about this "Attack on America." Partly because it *really* affects people like me, your average JP who wanted to vomit after every new piece of information that happened in the two hours this morning. Let me give you a bit of how my day went:

First off, I slept on the couch last night. My back hurts. I get to work about 20 minutes late, which is usual for me on Tuesdays. Tuesday people are great. Anyway, I take over controls and read a passage out of a book while our local 6:00am news is going on. All I was interested in was the weather because, since shark bites have lost the label of "news fad," any good humor material has been out of the newscast. From a person who works with and around news 40 hours a week, I was hungering for a good news story.

Be careful what you wish for, kids.

So, the first hour of The Today Show was as unappealing as it could possibly get. They had Sen. Kennedy on talking about art. They had.. gosh... either it was so boring or the rest of the day blocked it out, but I can't remember *WHAT* they had on The Today Show today.

Then came the 7:56:00am local news cut-in. We did half of it, and I heard the director mention something about getting our normal morning anchor in there to say something... I didn't know what the hell he was talking about. Then the NBC computer beeped and said, "TAKE NETWORK NOW!!!!!" They never use caps, and they never use punctuation.

I took network, and I see a full-screen shot of the first trade tower with a big ol' hole right up top where offices were supposed to be. This former history major thought, "Damn... Another plane hit a building in New York." Thinking back when a bomber hit the Empire State Building.

Al Roker thought the same thing. He and I are twins.

Then, watching this building burn, I was thinking, "Shoot... That fire's gonna be hard to put out." Then KA-BLOOEY!!!

All hell broke loose. I lost my breath at the same time as Katie, Al, and Matt. All three of us were speechless. They regained their composure and did normal news stuff. I just said, "Oh, shit." Reason #2847 why I am not an on-air person.

It's a strange feeling seeing disaster strike live. It is a little different when you watch it "recorded earlier." When it is happening live, you think, "My GOD... I know I didn't see that! What's gonna happen next?! OhgodOhgodOhgodOhgodOhgod." Ever been in a car wreck? Ever watch a video of a car wreck? Feels different, don't it?

And every time a new development happened:

"A plane just smashed into the Pentagon..."

"A plane just crashed in Pennsylvania..."

"Oh. My. Gosh. The trade towers are GONE."

My stomache flipped. I literally felt like vomiting. Watching all-out devestation happen to my homeland was devestating. Had I not been at work, I probably would have cried. My mind thinking one phrase, 60 years old.

Oh, the humanity.

I watched every bit of horror, my eyes not moving from the 40+ TV screens in front of my face for the 8 hours I had left at work. And as cowerdly as I am, I was almost convinced that I should sign up to go do to these barberians' mothers, daughters, brothers, sisters, buildings, and homelands what they did to mine. But I'm too afraid to die.

Plus, I don't think we should do to them what they did to us. That would make us no stronger, no braver, no honorable than them. We may have gotten caught with our pants down. We may have lost the battle. But the war is on our side. We have honor. We have the courage to lift our heads high!


Tuesdays are hell anyway. My WONDERFUL computer teacher let us out super early. She's great. I don't like the class, but I do like the teacher.

Anyway... So, I am absolutely craving

CRAVING

a bathtub filled full with water so hot I can barely sit in it. I will sit in it anyway. I will lay in it, actually. Allison Krauss will be playing. I will drink me a beer. Maybe I will call Mom and Dad and tell them I love them. Maybe I'll call Lisa and see how she's doing. I haven't talked to Kourtney in days either. But most of all...

I will cry.

8:19 p.m. - Tuesday, Sept. 11, 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster