mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Picayune: A love/hate kind of thing

Tonight is my last night in Picayune, Mississippi. Probably for a long time.

I don't like the town itself. It's like a family member you don't get along with. I don't like it, but I love it in its own little backwards way.

I did have a good trip down. I saw almost everyone I wanted to see. There is a girl from my old highschool days -- Michelle, who is now going under the pen name 'Elle' (sexy!) -- who I didn't get to see. I just ran out of time.

Have you ever seen the show Ed on NBC? This latest trip down to the Pic' is strangely like a visit to Stuckyville.

On three separate occasions, people have wanted to discuss mufflers with me. I know about as much about mufflers as Britney Spears knows about proper boob support.

I ran into an old highschool bandnerd friend who has his own barber shop, complete with old, toothless men reading the newspaper and not getting their haircut.

I went to take my mom's coworkers their food today, and some random kid stopped me out of the blue to let me hear his Irish accent. "Beautiful," I said. Y'know... he was like ten years old. I couldn't tell him what I really thought.


Speaking of cooking for my mom's coworkers...

I decided I would do some shrimp in a creole cream sauce on some puff pastry, a la Emeril. My food imagination has gone kaputt over the past week. So, I went over to The Food Network and found a decent recipe.

I get to Winn-Dixie, the local grocery store. I could only find like two ingredients. So, I had to instantly scrap my initial plan.

There I was, in the middle of a grocery store, all alone, with no idea what to make for a school full of teachers. So, I went and scanned the meat isle.

When cooking in bulk, nothing gets better money mileage than pork. So, I went to the pork section:

Three complete shelves of nothing but pork......... chops. There must have been 80-100 packages of nothing but pork chops.

And about 3 or 4 pork roasts. That was it. Made me mad.

So, I scanned down, looked at all of my options, and on the spur of the moment, made up something.

I ended up buying enough this-and-thats to make shrimp-stuffed veal on a bed of creamy dijon fettucini.

All of the hotttt teachers seemed to gush all over this handsome chef who brought them tasty food. They couldn't believe I made the dish up out of thin air.

I couldn't believe it turned out half way decent. It could have been better.


I'll miss my friends down here. Good Friend Kourtney, especially. She's a wonderful friend.

And my best friends -- meaning my parents. I don't know when I will see them again. That has been weighing heavily on my mind. I'm kinda sad about it.

It sucks not knowing when you will see your folks again. There has always been that bit of guilt involved in living so far away: wondering if or when I will regret living so far away from my parents.

I'm lucky. I love both of my parents, and both of them love me. And I choose to live 12 hours away.

Ugh.

I'm also working on only 4 hours of sleep. Maybe I should just go to bed.

I'll feel better tomorrow.

Next update will be coming from Missouri again. Thanks for visiting Picayune with me!

12:24 a.m. - Fri., Dec. 21, 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster