mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Is it too late to be a kid again?

I am soooo going to quit taking my car to the repair shop.

I went today to get my car inspected because I need a new license plate. Seems that cops don't much like your license plates to be expired for over six months like mine have. I'm lucky in that I have yet to get pulled over for it.

But that doesn't mean I'm not friggin' paranoid every time I get in my car. I figure if I am going to feel paranoid about driving, I should be high on something instead of being worried about a damned license plate.

So, I take my car into the car shop (incidentally, the same place that charged me $1,000 to install a new clutch only a month ago), and I tell them that I need a state inspection sticker. "Forty-five minutes? Great! See you then!"

I come back an hour later after walking to the book store. Car's not done. Another half hour passed, and the grease-monkey came out and said, "Jon? I can't issue you an inspection sticker. Your car didn't pass inspection."

Awww, shit, I thought. Turns out that my rear right tire was balder than ex-Enron chief Kenneth Lay.

So, in order for me to get the much-needed inspection sticker, I had to shell out $86 to get a new tire.

Can you say "Bouncy check?" Is "Imabrokebastard" a word?


I had a pretty nice weekend. Spent Sunday evening with Co-Worker Terra, who I guess should warrant a new name since we are dating and stuff. But I'm not in a "create a new name" kind of mood right now, so stuff it.

I made chicken-portabello risotto, and we watched our favorite Sunday Night HBO shows: Sopranos, Sex and the City, and Project Greenlight. Then we just sat and chatted until she had to go to work.

And I had to go home.

Here's what I don't get about the whole "dating" thing: What all does "dating" entail?

It confuses the hell out of me, that's for sure. How much time wanting to be spent with her is too much time? How many hugs are excessive? When is the desire to spend a lot of time with her cross the line from "dating" to "stalking"?

It's been a long time since I've been "just dating." When I was living in Mississippi, I was in a 2-year relationship. I moved up here and very temporarily dated someone before I met Mandy. That was another 2 years.

And we've been apart for a year. So, it's been over a good five years since I've really been "dating" anyone. I'm even confused about what to call the girl. She's no longer just a friend. But she's not a girlfriend (yet, anyway). Since we are "dating," does that make her my datefriend?

Oi.

Growing up is soooo f'n complicated. I remember when you could write a letter, fold it up kinda fancy, and *voila* no wondering what your relationship was like. You usually got a letter back with "Yes" or "No" circled.

How easy was that?!

But I guess what really matters, deep down, is that I am happy. Content. Giddy and nervous. But happy nonetheless.


I haven't written much at all about my new Roommate Chick.

She's kewl.

She encourages my new Co-Worker Terra relationship because it gets me out of the house so she can bring her guy over and, quote, "Make gross noises."

That quote is more my quote. She thinks sex noises are beautiful and wonderful.

"I do, too. But only if they are coming from me," I said.

Luckily, I have a television in my room. And noises don't travel well between our bedrooms. So, I usually end up watching HBO.

Summarizing: In order to get away from sex sounds, I turn on HBO so I can hear more.


Well, that's about it. If you are wondering, I have decided to no longer update on the weekends unless something super major happens.

When you update five times a week, you get a little burned out by the weekend. And then, after the weekend, you get itching to update again. So, yeah... I've decided to relax on the weekend.

I hope you have a decent week. Email me!

11:19 p.m. - Mon., Jan. 28, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster