mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Getting Naked in Kansas City

Wowsers. What a lot to talk about...

I guess last time we chatted, I was getting ready for a nice little dinner party. It went off very well. I ended up having about seven or eight people over, and the meal was fantabulous.

That's my own made-up word, by the way. That's what happens when you are an English major -- you get to make up new nomenclatures for different things. "Fantabulous" is my sole contribution to the English language thus far.

I must publish the recipe for that buttered cider sauce for the pork. It was quite the hit. I was surprised that I had everything around to make it. Basically, it consists of apples, cider, brandy (the drink, not the singer), and butter.

I bet if you toasted some almonds with it, it would be enough to mess your pants. I'll try that before getting back to you.


If you remember from the other day, I called in sick to work Saturday due to a bad case of "Friend Getting Hitched"-itis.

I drove over to Kansas City on Friday evening and met up with a couple of good friends at the KC airport. One of them was flying in from Ohio, and we wanted to get a quick start on the night. After putting our stuff down at the hotel, we went to one of my all-time favorite restaurants.

Of course, I'm talking about Hooters.

Being a self-described "Boob Man" and foodie for as long as my memory will stretch, I think that Hooters is a culinary mecca that combines the wonders of really good junk food with women that drip with sexual appeal to make one fine eating establishment.

Apart from being a textbook boob guy, I am also one of the biggest flirts you could ever come across. Take me to a place where beautiful girls with cleavage out to Timbuktu and back are paid to flirt with me, and I am one happy sumbitch.

The last time I went to Hooters with this crowd, I ended up flirting enough to have the waitress ask if she could come over when she got off of work. But alas, that was St. Louis, and I live in Columbia. So... no go.

My friends all say that she said that for a bigger tip. But I really, really think she meant it! So, shut up!

The waitress we had on Friday fell under the "nerdy sexy" category: glasses, shoulder-length hair, not too much cleavage. But she was flirty as all get-out and had a great smile. That was well enough to shiver me timbers for sure.

I ordered the super large beer in hopes to drink enough confidence to ask her out. But I guess I need two of those. I also ordered a half-dozen raw oysters (which were bland and only semi decent) and a Hooters Burger that was so big that I had to eat it with a fork and knife.

I had a week's worth of fat in one meal, I tell ya.

After Hooters, we went to the bachelor "party," which consisted of about 10 guys sitting around a table smoking cheap cigars and drinking one drink each. That was pretty fine for me, though, because 64 oz. of beer at Hooters (approximately. That beer was humongous) did enough for me.

The big group of us met back to the hotel where we stayed up late playing Trivial Pursuit. The newest one. You know... where the questions suck.

How many atoms exactly are in an average-sized aluminum/stainless steel teaspoon?

Or some shit like that. It was rediculous.


After getting a couple of hours of sleep, we woke up and left for Waffle House.

As usual, I got my hashbrowns smothered, covered, and chunked.

Waffle House is a gift from the gods. But eating what I did the night before plus a fat-filled breakfast (steak, eggs, and grits) left me feeling less than wonderful for the rest of the day.

That's one of the crappy things about being on a diet. You can no longer eat the stuff you used to without feeling like ass for the rest of the day.

Since we had a day to burn, four of us decided to go find some swimsuits and head down to the hotel's heated pool and hot tub.

There was also a sauna.

After swimming for 30 minutes or so, your hands get all pruney and your swimsuits get all wet. What better way to dry out everything than to go sit in the sauna for a stint?

But alas, your swimsuit can't dry if it is stuck to your wet legs, right? So, there is only one way to rectify this problem.

I said, there is only one way to rectify this problem.

Don't say I've never shown you naked pictures of myself.


I went to the wedding, which was loverly. The bride obviously has great tastes. And so does the groom, because the bride was incredibly beautiful. I hope my wedding turns out half as nice.

The reception was also very nice. The food was very good, and everyone seemed to be relaxed and comfortable.

Thankfully for everyone attending, I had to leave for home before the dancing started. If you've ever seen an epileptic person OD on No-Doz while watching strobe lights, you have seen me dance.

But before I went to change out of my mafia suit into more driving-friendly clothes, I stopped to take a picture of the group of friends I am in.

These guys are a great group of people I am blessed to know. I hope they don't mind their mugs being plastered on a diary being read by one or two people per day.

Anyway. That's me on the lower-right in my "Mafia Suit." It's amazing how much confidence an article of clothing can give you.


So, that was my weekend. It was a lot of fun. I love getting out of Columbia for little spans like that.

I picked up a few CDs while I was out and about over the weekend. One CD was Alison Krauss "Live," which was the exact concert Best Friend Lisa and I attended a year ago. It's a great CD. Pick it up if you get the chance.

I also got a CD called For The Kids. It's a collection of kids songs (many from the Muppets and Sesame Street) sung by the likes of Cake, Bare Naked Ladies, Sara McLachlan, and Sixpence None The Richer. Apart from being "kiddy," it's a really great CD.

I'm probably going to send a copy to my sister and her youngin'. I've listened to it three or four times since I got it, and it still hasn't bored me.

Especially Sara McLachlan's "Rainbow Connection." Damn.


One last thing before I end this long-ass entry.

I was very pleasantly reviewed over the weekend. The girl who did it did a fabulous job reviewing my diary and gave some really good tips.

Go read what she said and give me some suggestions for a new layout. I've had this one for quite some time now, and I am feeling the need to redecorate.


Well, that's it.

Thanks for reading this far. And if you quit around the naked pictures...

well... I can't blame ya.

10:45 p.m. - Sun., Nov. 10, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster