mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Two-Minute Update

"Grab a pen and paper. Quick."

Much to my surprise, that was JP on the other end of the line Sunday morning, calling from Air Force basic military training in Lackland, Texas.

He had two minutes -- literally -- to let me know that he was alive and spit out the ridiculously long address at the bottom of this entry.

Drop him a note, letter, postcard, professions of undying love but NO PACKAGES. Uncle Sam's orders. And lord knows, I don't think we want to get JP on the wrong side of Uncle Sam at the moment.

I'd like to be able to give you some insight into how he's doing, but the airman clearly didn't have the time for chitchat, and a good part of his two minutes of phone time was eaten up by me digging furiously for a pen and paper. I also got the impression he wasn't supposed to talk about it. I asked several times, and he deflected the question each time.

He sounded a bit stressed, but under the circumstances I'd be worried if he didn't...

Mike


AB Brown, Jon-Paul

323 TRS Flight 529 (Dorm A9) PSC3

1500 Shaw Drive, Unit 369549

Lackland Air Force Base, Texas

78236-6095

1:18 p.m. - Sunday, Jun. 01, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster