mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Loads of death! Wheeeeeee..... (hope that makes you feel better)

Jesus. EVERYONE is dying. People are dropping like flies.

First, it was Marlon Brando.

After 26 (almost 27!) years, I finally got around to watching the entire first Godfather movie. At this rate, I will watch the trilogy by the time I am on medicaid.

Then, this morning, I read the news that my very first favorite celebrity chef had died. Jeff Smith -- AKA The Frugal Gourmet -- was basically my hero growing up.

He taught me great cooking lessons like the saying, "Hot pan, cold oil: food won't stick!" I told someone that the other day while I was cooking dinner. He will stick with me for my whole life.

One time, back when the world-wide web was really new, I had a knack for finding people's information online. This was before the days of identity theft (well, before identity mass-theft) and you could find anything about anyone for free. Now, you have to pay an ungodly sum of $29.95.

Anyway, I found Jeff Smith's home telephone number. And, like you do when you find your hero's home telephone number, I called him...

... and I got his home answering machine. But his answering machine gave his office number. So, I called that...

... and knew it was him when he picked up the phone. Jeff Smith had a very distinctive voice and I recognized it immediately. We talked for about thirty minutes. He told me of a good friend of his from Mississippi, I told him he was my hero. I gushed on and on.

It was a highlight of my life, that 30 minutes. Mostly because nobody believes that it was that easy to find my hero's home telephone number, and then that I would call. But I did.

And finally, f'n Weezie died!

I never understood while growing up why Weezie would put up with the likes of George. He was loud, rude, and mean. Plus, I think he was gettin' some of that Florence action on the side, if-you-know-what-I-mean.

But, I guess they truly loved each other and spent their later years eating Denny's and shopping at Old Navy. George seemed to tame down a bit, undoubtedly from the constipation caused by eating "Two Moons Over My Hammie" every night.


I went to Luxembourg City over the weekend, and I have some really great pictures, but they will have to wait. I have to be at work in 30 minutes. Maybe tomorrow.

10:34 p.m. - Mon., July 12, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster